June 2022

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Alex Padilla
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Raul Ruiz
United States Congress
Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senators Padilla and Feinstein and Congressman Ruiz:

Thank you for your commitment to honoring the visibility of our diverse American history in our national parks. We are writing to express support for establishing the Cesar E. Chavez and the Farmworker Movement National Historical Park.

In 2013, after years of study, the National Park Service recommended that Congress establish a national historical park that would include the Cesar Chavez National Monument and other sites that tell the story of Cesar Chavez and the farmworker movement. Establishing such a park is an opportunity to spread the legacy, vision and achievements of Cesar Chavez and the farm labor movement to audiences around the country.

The establishment of a Cesar E. Chavez and the Farmworker Movement National Historical Park would pay tribute to one of the most influential leaders in U.S. history, while teaching Americans about the transformational leader and his struggle for justice for farmworkers. The historical park will provide opportunities to inspire and educate all Americans.

It is crucial that our national parks represent the diversity of America and respect the rich heritage of its people. Establishing a national historical park honoring Cesar Chavez and the farm worker movement would help fulfill this vision. Please honor the legacy of the farm labor movement and support legislation to establish the Cesar E. Chavez and the American Farmworker National Historical Park.

Thank you again for your commitment to honoring our American heritage.


The following undersigned organizations:

Trisha Kehaulani Watson, J.D., Ph.D.
Vice President
‘Āina Momona

David Diaz, MPH
Executive Director
Active San Gabriel Valley

Claire Robinson
Executive Director
Amigos de los Rios

Marce Gutierrez-Graudins
Executive Director

Aaron McCall
Federal Advocacy Coordinator
California Environmental Voters

Michael J. Painter
Californians for Western Wilderness

Ector Olivares
Program Manager, Environmental Justice
Catholic Charities

Michael Murray
Coalition to Protect America's National Parks

Raimundo Espinoza
Executive Director
Conservación ConCiencia

Ellen Montgomery, Public Lands Campaign Director &
Laura Deehan, State Director
Environment California

Ronald Estrada
Chief Executive Officer
Farmworker Justice

Tracy Katelman
Community Fire Planner & Consulting Forester
ForEverGreen Forestry

Meghan Wolf
Environmental Activism Manager

Jason Swann
Rising Routes

Angelica Gonzalez Apple
Assistant Director
Robert Redford Conservancy for Southern California Sustainability

Carlos Zegarra
Executive Director

John Dunmore
Federal Policy, Lands Protection Program
Sierra Club

Jenny Marie Hatch
Executive Director
Sierra Nevada Alliance

Oscar Cisco, Program Coordinator &
Sendy Hernández Orellana Barrows, Conservation Program Manager
The Council of Mexican Federations in North America (COFEM)

Nezahualcoyotl Xiuhtecutli
General Coordinator
The Farmworker Association of Florida

Bill Mott
Executive Director
The Ocean Project

Myke Bybee
Legislative Director
The Trust for Public Land

Frazier Haney
Executive Director
The Wildlands Conservancy
Darla DeRuiter
Executive Director
Friends of Plumas Wilderness

Tammy Martin
Executive Director
Friends of the Desert Mountains

Shelley Silbert
Executive Director
Great Old Broads for Wilderness

Ángel Peña
Public Lands Advocate

Shanna Edberg
Director of Conservation Programs
Hispanic Access Foundation

Laura Esquivel
Vice President, Federal Policy and Advocacy
Hispanic Federation

Camilla Simon
Executive Director
Hispanics Enjoying Camping, Hunting, and the Outdoors (HECHO)

Christine Evans
Grants & Communications Manager
Inland Ocean Coalition

Benjamin Alexandro
Senior Government Affairs Advocate
League of Conservation Voters

Belen Bernal
Executive Director
Nature for All

Katie Hawkins
California Program Manager
Outdoor Alliance

Charles H. Thomas Jr.
Executive Director
Outward Bound Adventures Inc. (OBA Inc.)

Sandra Schubert
Executive Director

Reem Ikram
Communications Director
Utah Diné Bikéyah

Janessa Goldbeck
Vet Voice Foundation

Laura Cunningham
California Director
Western Watersheds Project

Paul Spitler
Senior Legislative Policy Manager
The Wilderness Society