August 4, 2021 

Dear President Biden, 

We, the undersigned, urge you to nominate a National Park Service (NPS) Director as soon as possible. It’s been over four years since the NPS has had a Senate-confirmed director, an agency whose 20,000 employees oversee 423 of America’s most treasured places — national parks, monuments, battlefields, military parks, historical parks, historic sites, lakeshores, seashores, recreation areas, scenic rivers and trails. Now is the time to nominate and secure a permanent director. 

The NPS Director is charged with upholding the National Park Service’s mission to protect and keep unimpaired our most incredible natural, cultural and historic resources for current and future generations to experience and enjoy. Our national park rangers, and the American people, deserve nothing less than a fully empowered leader to perform their duties. 

Our national parks are facing great threats, including from nearby development, air and water pollution and climate change. The parks are also experiencing record breaking visitation that must be managed carefully to ensure the protection of the resources and visitor enjoyment. The system is also enjoying strong bipartisan support as evidenced in passage last year of the Great American Outdoors Act which will dramatically reduce years of underinvestment which resulted in a deferred maintenance backlog creating safety and enjoyment challenges for visitors and threats to park natural, cultural and historic resources. These challenges and opportunities demand innovative and bold leadership from a Director to make our parks, and their air, water and wildlife stronger and better than ever before. 

The NPS also needs a Director who is committed to partnerships and diversity within the park system, including working with a network of allies in the conservation, recreation and travel and tourism arenas. In order for our national parks to grow stronger in their second century, the next Director must work to ensure that everyone feels welcome and can see themselves reflected in these beautiful places, and that caring for our parks is a universal commitment. 

Recognizing how long the NPS has been without a confirmed Director, we urge you to proceed with a formal nomination in the very near future of a qualified, proven leader. We look forward to supporting the next Director and all the important work ahead to ensure the protection and future of our national parks. 

Thank you for your consideration, 

Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area/Looking for Lincoln 

Alliance of National Heritage Areas 

American Battlefield Trust 

American Hiking Society 

American Society of Landscape Architects 

American Trails 

Appalachian Forest National Heritage Area 

Appalachian Trail Conservancy 

Arabia Mountain Heritage Area Alliance 

Atchafalaya National Heritage Area 

Atomic Heritage Foundation 

Augusta Canal Authority 

Bear River Heritage Area 

Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor 

Blackstone Valley Tourism Council Inc 

Blue Ridge National Heritage Area Partnership 

Cache la Poudre River National Heritage Area 

Canal Corridor Association 

Cane River National Heritage Area, Inc. 

Christopher Park Alliance 

Coalition to Protect America’s National Parks 

Colorado Wild Public Lands 

Coltsville Heritage Partnership, Inc 

Delaware & Lehigh National Heritage Corridor 

Elizabeth Cady Stanton Trust 

Essex National Heritage Area 

Evelyn Hill Inc 

Finger Lakes Tourism Alliance 

Forever Resorts 

Fort Sumter Tours 

Franklin D. Roosevelt Hyde Park Foundation 

Freedom Trail Foundation 

Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area 

Friends of Arches and Canyonlands Parks 

Friends of Dyke Marsh 

Friends of Fairsted 

Friends of Herring River 

Friends of the Boston Harbor Islands 

Friends of the Longfellow House–Washington’s Headquarters 

Friends of the Mississippi River 

Friends of the Upper Delaware River 

Grand Junction Area Broadband — Great Old Broads for Wilderness 

Great Basin Heritage Area Partnership 

Greater Roseland Chamber of Commerce 

Hamilton Partnership for Paterson 

High Country Conservation Advocates 

Historic Pullman Foundation 

Hoosier Environmental Council 

International Inbound Travel Association 

Jamaica Bay-Rockaway Parks Conservancy 

John Burroughs Association 

Kenai Mountains-Turnagain Arm National Heritage Area 

League of Conservation Voters 

Lowell Parks and Conservation Trust 

Methow Valley Citizens Council 

Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area 

Mississippi Park Connection 

Mormon Pioneer National Heritage Area 

MotorCities National Heritage Area Pnsp 

Mountain Trip Alaska 

Mountains to Sound Greenway Trust 

National Marine Manufacturing Association 

National Park Hospitality Association 

National Parks Conservation Association 

National Park Partners 

National Tour Association 

New York-New Jersey Trail Conference 

Niagara Falls National Heritage Area, Inc. 

Northern Plains National Heritage Area 

Oil Region Alliance of Business, Industry & Tourism 

Olympic Park Advocates 

Outdoor Industry Association 

Outdoor Recreation Roundtable 

Partnership for the National Trails 

Public Lands Alliance 

Revolutionary Spaces, Inc. 

Rocky Mountain Conservancy 

Rocky Mountain Wild 

San Juan Citizens Alliance 

San Luis Valley Ecosystem Council 

Santa Cruz Valley Heritage Alliance 

Save the Dunes 

Scenic America 

Shenandoah National Park Trust 

Southeast Tourism Society 

Susquehanna National Heritage Area 

The Ansel Adams Gallery 

The Corps Network 

The Evangelical Environmental Network 

The Trust for Public Land 

Theodore Roosevelt Legacy Partnership 

United States Tour Operators Association 

Upper Housatonic Valley National Heritage Area 

Voyageurs Conservancy 

Washington Biologists’ Field Club 

Washington Parks & People 

Washington’s National Park Fund 

Western States Tourism Policy Council 

Wheeling National Heritage Area Corporation 

Wild Rivers Conservancy of the St. Croix & Namekagon 

Wildlands Network 

Yuma Crossing National Heritage Area 

Cc: Deb Haaland, U.S. Secretary of the Interior 

Tommy Beaudreau, U.S. Deputy Secretary of the Interior 

Shannon Estenoz, Assistant Secretary for Fish and Wildlife and Parks