The CPANP Logo

Coalition Recognizes Antiquities Act Anniversary

On June 8, 1906, the Antiquities Act was signed into law by President Theodore Roosevelt. This landmark legislation authorizes the President of the United States to proclaim national monuments on federal lands that contain historic landmarks, historic and prehistoric structures, or other objects of historic or scientific interest.

In honor of the 116th anniversary of the passage of the Antiquities Act, Michael Murray, Chair of the Coalition to Protect America’s National Parks, issued the following statement:

“In the many decades since its passage, 18 of 22 Presidents have exercised their authority under the Antiquities Act to create a total of 158 national monuments. These special places include the Grand Canyon, Grand Teton, Zion, Olympic, and the Statue of Liberty. In fact, today the National Park Service manages over 100 parks that got their start thanks to the Antiquities Act.

So many treasured and irreplaceable sites on public lands have been protected for the enjoyment of future generations thanks to the judicious exercise of Presidential authority under the Antiquities Act of 1906. The Act has truly played a pivotal role in our country’s history and in the history of the National Park Service; but there are still many precious landscapes and resources in need of protection.

Today, on the anniversary of this landmark legislation, we urge President Biden to use his authority under the Antiquities Act of 1906 to designate additional special places such as the Castner Range, Avi Kwa Ame, Douglas-Fir, Range of Light, 1908 Springfield Race Riot Site, Cahokia Mounds, and other public lands across the United States, as America’s newest national monuments. Now is the time for action.”