Home   Documents   About   Awards

The Coalition presents awards at appropriate times to draw attention to individuals who have made significant contributions to our goals. In addition to the honor of being nominated and selected for distinction by their peers in the Coalition, winners receive hand-carved wooden plaques made by Coalition member Rob Arnberger.

 The George Hartzog Award

The George Hartzog Award is given to the individual or individuals who demonstrate outstanding support for the mission of the National Park System and/or the National Park Service. Nominations are solicited from the general membership of the Coalition or the National Park Service with the recipient(s) selected by the Executive Council. This award is presented annually or at other times deemed appropriate by the Council.

The 2015 George Hartzog Award

David Brooks and Molly Ross

David Brooks & Maureen Finnerty

This award is given annually by the Coalition to an individual who has made significant contributions to the National Park System and Service. This year we have selected David Brooks and Molly Ross.

As a congressional staff member for nearly 30 years, David Brooks has been responsible for shaping some of the most consequential national park and environmental legislation enacted by Congress.

Over the past four years, Molly Ross, former special assistant to the Director of the NPS, prepared all the details, including research, public contact, drafting of the Secretary’s Memorandum to the President, and the Presidential Proclamation itself, for 15 new NPS National Monuments. Here is a letter from Molly Ross about receiving this award.

The 1872 Award

Janet McDonnell

This award is given annually by the Coalition to an individual for their outstanding service and support for the mission of the Coalition.This year, we have selected, former NPS historian and Coalition member, for her assistance in presenting our monthly Centennial biography series. In all, 70 biographies were completed.


Finally, Certificates or Letters Of Appreciation may be awarded at any time by the Chair to recognize service to the Coalition.

This page last modified:October 3, 2017 @ 6:15 pm